Backstage Tours

This is your chance to see how the magic happens!

Have you ever wondered what it’s like to go behind the scenes of a professional theatre? Join us for insider access to the dressing rooms, green room and backstage. Our trained volunteer guides will share their extensive knowledge of the storied history of the Playhouse and the hundreds of stars who have graced the stage. All tours are open to the public. The cost is $10 for the full 90 minute "Behind the Scenes Tour." A 45 minute “Stage Door Tour" is also available on specified dates for $5. Ogunquit Playhouse Members tour for free when they present their current Membership card.

  • Hear the history of the famous Ogunquit Playhouse!
  • See behind the scenes!
  • Step into the original dressings rooms of the stars - Bette Davis, Myrna Loy, Douglas Fairbanks Jr., Walter Matthau, Steve McQueen, Sally Struthers, Charles Shaugnessy, Carson Kressley and over 300 more since 1937!
  • See the Wig Room, where our actors prepare for the show!
  • See the Green Room, where our cast and crew spend their downtime!
  • See our Sound Room!

Prices and Details

45 minute tour - $5   |   90 minute tour - $10   |    Maximum attendance per tour: 20 people

2016 Tour Schedule

Tours can be purchased directly through our Box Office online (below) or by phone at (207) 646-5511, and are filled on a first come, first served basis. Please be aware that proper footwear is required - no flip-flops or sandals will be allowed. Tours are conducted at your own risk.

Tours beginning at 10:30 am are 45-min Stage Door Tour. All other tours are 90 minutes.

Friday, May 27 10:30 am   Friday, August 26 10:30 am
Friday, May 27 11:00 am   Friday, August 26 11:00 am
Monday, June 6 10:30 am   Sunday, August 28 10:30 am
Monday, June 6 4:00 pm   Friday, September 2 10:30 am
Sunday, June 19 10:30 am   Friday, September 2 11:00 am
Monday, June 20 10:30 am   Sunday, September 11 10:30 am
Monday, June 20 4:00 pm   Friday, September 16 10:30 am
Friday, June 24 10:30 am   Friday, September 16 11:00 am
Friday, June 24 11:00 am   Monday, September 19 10:30 am
Sunday, June 26 10:30 am   Monday, September 19 4:00 pm
Monday, July 18 10:30 am   Sunday, September 25 10:30 am
Monday, July 18 4:00 pm   Friday, September 30 10:30 am
Monday, July 25 10:30 am   Friday, September 30 11:00 am
Monday, July 25 4:00 pm   Sunday, October 9 10:30 am
Monday, August 1 10:30 am   Monday, October 10 10:30 am
Monday, August 1 4:00 pm   Monday, October 10 4:00 pm
Friday, August 5 10:30 am   Friday, October 14 10:30 am
Friday, August 5 11:00 am   Friday, October 14 11:00 am
Monday, August 15 10:30 am   Sunday, October 16 10:30 am
Monday, August 15 4:00 pm      

Scenic Charge Cheryl Dolan

Set Designer Adam Koch

Props Master Nina Alexander

Making Magic: Geof Dolan

Making Magic: Richard Latta