Backstage Tours

This is your chance to see how the magic happens!

Have you ever wondered what it’s like to go behind the scenes of a professional theatre? Join us for insider access to the dressing rooms, green room and backstage. Our trained volunteer guides will share their extensive knowledge of the storied history of the Playhouse and the hundreds of stars who have graced the stage. All tours are open to the public. The cost is $10 for the full 90 minute "Behind the Scenes Tour." A 45 minute “Stage Door Tour" is also available on specified dates for $5. Ogunquit Playhouse Members tour for free when they present their current Membership card.

  • Hear the history of the famous Ogunquit Playhouse!
  • See behind the scenes!
  • Step into the original dressings rooms of the stars - Bette Davis, Myrna Loy, Douglas Fairbanks Jr., Walter Matthau, Steve McQueen, Sally Struthers, Charles Shaugnessy, Carson Kressley and over 300 more since 1937!
  • See the Wig Room, where our actors prepare for the show!
  • See the Green Room, where our cast and crew spend their downtime!
  • See our Sound Room!

Prices and Details

45 minute tour - $5   |   90 minute tour - $10   |    Maximum attendance per tour: 20 people

Schedule

Tours can be purchased directly through our Box Office online (below) or by phone at (207) 646-5511, and are filled on a first come, first served basis. Please be aware that proper footwear is required - no flip-flops or sandals will be allowed. Tours are conducted at your own risk.

Tours beginning at 10:30 am are 45-min Stage Door Tour. All other tours are 90 minutes.

Friday, May 22 11:00 am              Monday, August 3 11:00 am
Sunday, May 31 10:30 am   Monday, August 10 11:00 am
Monday, June 1 10:30 am   Monday, August 10 4:00 pm
Monday, June 1 4:00 pm   Friday, August 14 11:00 am
Friday, June 5 11:00 am   Monday, August 31 4:00 pm
Monday, June 8 4:00 pm   Friday, September 4 11:00 am
Monday, June 15 4:00 pm   Friday, September 11 11:00 am
Monday, June 29 10:30 am   Sunday, September 13 10:30 am
Monday, June 29 4:00 pm   Friday, September 18 11:00 am
Monday, July 6 4:00 pm   Sunday, September 27 10:30 am
Monday, July 13 10:30 am   Monday, September 28 10:30 am
Monday, July 13 4:00 pm   Monday, September 28 4:00 pm
Monday, July 17 11:00 am   Friday, October 2 10:30 am
Monday, July 27 10:30 am   Sunday, October 4 10:30 am
Monday, July 27 4:00 pm   Friday, October 9 10:30 am
Friday, July 31 11:00 am   Friday, October 9 11:00 am

  

Behind-the-Scenes: Props (Article)

Props Master Nina Alexander takes us beyond backstage and into her world, creating props and living the dream! Read here.

Nina Alexander, Timothey Sullivan

Making Magic (Video)

Take a brand new look at behind-the-scenes of the Ogunquit Playhouse! Find out what it takes to put a show together from the ground up!

Geof Dolan

featuring Technical Director Geof Dolan

Richard Latta

featuring Lighting Designer Richard Latta

80 Years of Ogunquit Playhouse

80th Book

The history, the stars, the stories! Purchase online or at our shop in the lobby.

Buy Now